Japanese Eyeliner Review

IMG_3183.png

I am always on the hunt for a good eyeliner. It’s one of the first makeup items I learned to use and it will always have a special place in my heart. Getting the right eyeliner for me is a little bit tricky since I have combination-dry skin with an oily t-zone that also includes the brows and eyes.

A lot of smudge-proof eyeliner ranging from MAC’s fluidline eyeliner to Kat Von D.’s Tattoo liner smears on me. Primer seems to help on most days and not on other days so I decided to branch out into the world and try some Japanese eyeliner.

IMG_3178

Here is a quick comparison of all of the eyeliners I am comparing/reviewing today. As you can see, all of them swatch nicely onto the paper (with the exception of Majolica).

Kat Von D. – Tattoo Liner

IMG_2324

For the sake of today’s review, I decided to use the fan favorite Kat Von D.’s Tattoo Liner as a base to compare the other products to. This too gasp smudges on me after a couple hours of wear but it is one of the most long wearing, western eyeliner I have tried. On some good days, it will stay put without the usage of primer but I have found that primer tends to help. The color is pigment and applies nicely onto the paper as well as the skin.

Majolica – Perfect Automatic Liner (Navy)

IMG_2326

This is one of the few eyeliners that doesn’t smudge on me because instead of smudging onto my lower lash line, it flakes off. It’s kind of like having fallout from a really chunky eye shadow. The chunks themselves look better aesthetically when compared to smudges; so I guess, pick your poison.

The liner, as you can see from the paper swatch above, isn’t that pigmented so it can be hard when working with this liner. It takes a couple of tries to get a nice wing but, the saving grace of this is that it is very forgiving. The opacity of the liner helps hide mistakes and can be easily removed with a cotton swap so I would recommend this for a beginner.

Fushiform – Moteliner (Black)

IMG_2333

I really wanted to like this eyeliner because I loved the hexagon shape of it. The liner itself is very pigmented and I had no problem applying it onto the lids. It, however, wore terribly. Within an hour or so, the liner had transferred to my lower lashes and when I tried to remove it, it smudged even more and gave me the perfect raccoon eyes.

The primer didn’t help much so I gave up on it after 2 or 3 tries. This liner ended up working perfectly for my sister so I may just have super oily eyelids.

Cuore K-Palette – 24H Real Lasting Eyeliner

IMG_2329That’s quite a bit of packaging for one skinny, little eyeliner.IMG_2331

I wanted to try it since it advertises itself as the Real Lasting Eyeliner with 24 hour wear. I know that it’s just an advertising ploy to get you to spend your money but I wanted to see if it lived up to it’s name.

I didn’t have too much problem with the application process but, it did start to flake off after a couple hours of wear. Unlike the Majolica liner, I had less of a flaking issue and it did hold up better than the Majolica liner.

Untitled-2Untitled-1

Since I didn’t have a picture to showcase what I meant by flakes, I decided to add one here. If you look in the bottom right hand corner, you can start to see small black particles flaking off and you can see that the wing has faded quite a bit. This was roughly after 6 hours of wear without the usage of any primer so I was actually quite impressed with it. While it didn’t live up to the 24 Hour name, I think this is something I would keep using since the flaking isn’t that bad.

Lovedrops – Tearbaby Deep Eyeliner (Brown)

IMG_2327IMG_2328

I got this on my last trip to Japan Town, roughly 2-3 weeks ago so this eyeliner is still relatively new to me. I was actually debating whether or not to order this on Amazon but since it didn’t have any reviews, I was worried that I would get a fake one so I was quite happy when I found it in Japan Town.

Unfortunately, they only had it in brown but I will try to track down a black-colored version of this eyeliner. I know the swatch on the paper looks black but it is a deep brown color that works nicely for a more natural look. And the best part about this eyeliner is that it doesn’t smudge.

It doesn’t smudge.

It fades but it doesn’t smudge or flake; even after a 10 hour wear. Maybe I have finally found my holy grail eyeliner. It’s not advertised as waterproof so I don’t know how well it would hold up under more humid conditions but I wore it to the gym and it didn’t budge.

Final Thoughts

I think I had better luck with these Japanese eyeliners than their western counterparts. I really enjoyed hunting down all of the liners and trying it out. The only issue I have is their accessibility/price since they’re harder to buy here in the States and they do raise the price here. I guess it is fair since it’s still cheaper than buying a plane ticket to Japan but, I have to admit that my blood pressure does raise a little when I see the price in yen printed neatly on the back.

But if you’re someone who had issues with finding a smudge-proof eyeliner, be sure to check these out.

Leave a Reply

