Sephora PLAY! – Step it Up! April ’17

April

The theme of April is Step it Up and so it’s all about skin care and prep.

IMG_1699

Here is what I got in this month’s beauty bag (left to right):

  • Pinrose Secret Genius Towelette
  • Make Up Forever – Aqua XL Eye Pencil
  • Smashbox – Photo Finish Foundation Primer
  • Fresh – Vitamin Nectar Vibrancy Boosting Face Mask
  • Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare – Ferulic + Retinol Recovery Peel
  • Sephora Collection – Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

Pinrose Secret Genius – Eau De Parfum Towelette

IMG_1708┬áTo be honest, I’m not quite sure what this is. A nice smelling towelette? My friend got the same scent in a small perfume sample bottle. It’s a romantic blend of vanilla and caramel.

Make Up Forever – Aqua XL Eye Pencil & Smashbox – Photo Finish Primer

IMG_1706

My skin type is combination leaning towards the dry side. Most of my face, excluding the t-zone, is dry and absorbs any kind of moisture with a greedy thirst. You figured with a skin type like this meant I at least had the benefit of being able to wear any kind of eyeliner. But of course, the oily part of my face includes the t-zone area but also extends beyond to the brow bone before finishing around the eyelids area.

I didn’t hold too much hope for the eyeliner since all pencils smear on me and I was right. However, the pencil eyeliner did hold up pretty well all things considered. I didn’t wear a primer with it because I wanted to test the longevity of it and while it did transfer to the lower lash line every few hours, most of the pigment stayed on the actual upper lash line.

I have tried the Smashbox primer in the past and it turned out to be too drying for my skin so these two items were a miss for me this month.

Fresh – Vitamin Nectar & Sephora – Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

IMG_1702

I think I tried the Fresh vitamin nectar mask a couple months back and my impression of it was not really impressed. But since it has been a while since I last use it, I’ll give it another go and let you know how it goes!

I’ve also tried the Sephora eye makeup remover in the past before. The makeup remover won’t remover the more stubborn and built-to-last types of formula but, it will remove the everything else. The travel size also makes it convenient to just throw it in your bag and take it on the go.

Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare – Ferulic + Retinol Recovery Peel

IMG_1700

I am a little reluctant to try this since I’m still young and using anti-aging products right now could actually accelerate the aging process for me so I think I’ll pass it on to someone else.

Final Thoughts

So for this month, I wasn’t too excited about most of the products. 2 out of the 5 were basically unusable to me, which is quite disappointing. I wish you could build a more accurate skin profile with Sephora so that they would send you products that actually worked for you.

Leave a Reply

